Double Gobble Oscar Picks

Nate D. Sanders Auctions Collection Of Academy Award Oscar Statuettes Set To Be Auctioned

Here we go, Double Gobblers- we can’t believe that The Oscars are almost here! While we didn’t have the chance to see all of the shorts, we did see a good chunk of the films nominated this year. Below you will find our Oscar picks. For the bigger categories, we decided to pick the films that we want to win (From the Heart) and also the films we think The Academy is likely to choose (From the Head). We only included the categories that we have seen or have extensive knowledge in. Feel free to leave your own picks below!

13595_10153071203230551_849316101_n

Kristy’s Picks

Best Picture

From the Heart: 12 Years A Slave- I loved this film and I think that time will prove it to be one of the best films in American cinema. The acting is superb, the writing is fantastic, and if The Academy is going for true emotion and grit, they will pick this one.

From the Head: American Hustle – This film has it all; an all-star cast, great direction, a suspenseful storyline, and a steady momentum at the box office. While it’s not my personal favorite, I think The Academy will reward this film for it’s originality.

Best Actor

From the Heart: Chiwetel Ejiofor deserves this and I will honestly be upset if anyone else wins out over him.

From the Head: Public opinion can have a strong influence over any person or group, and The Academy is no exception. For this reason, I think that Leonardo DiCaprio might actually get that golden statue- not because he deserves it for this particular role, but because the internet has decided it is time for him to win.

Best Actress

From the Heart: I am unhappy with the situation that has come to light regarding Woody Allen, but I do believe that Cate Blanchett has the strongest performance out of this group.

From the Head: There are quite a few award show darlings in this category, and it is tough to decide where The Academy will go with this one. If American Hustle wins Best Picture, it might end up being Amy Adams’ time to shine.

Best Supporting Actor

From the Heart: I want to see Barkhad Andi up there, but there is a very slim chance of that happening. My second choice would be Bradley Cooper for his strong and convincing performance.

From the Head: It’s going to come down to Bradley Cooper and Jared Leto and Leto’s incredible dedication to his character just might tip the Oscar in his favor.

Best Supporting Actress

From the Heart: Once again, I will extremely disappointed if Lupito  Nyung’o walks away empty handed. This might be the most deserved winner of the night.

From the Head: If they are smart, Lupito  Nyung’o will walk away with the  win but Jennifer Lawrence has a huge shot at it as well.

Best Director

From the Heart: It’s not a secret that “12 Years A Slave” is my favorite of the nominated movies this year, therefore it should be no surprise that I think Steve McQueen should walk away with the Best Director award.

From the Head: I think it will come down to McQueen and Cuaron but “Gravity” gets a slight edge for its use of innovative technology.

Other Category Choices:

Best Animated Feature

I am going with “Frozen”, due to it’s box office momentum and it’s original storyline.

Best Documentary

Both “The Act of Killing” and “Twenty Feet From Stardom” were fantastic, but I am going with “The Act of Killing” due to it’s astounding subject matter

Best Original Screenplay

“Her” surprised me in the best ways possible and deserves to win for it’s originality.

Best Adapted Screenplay

Again, “12 Years A Slave” is my favorite choice for storyline.

Best Original Score

I am pulling for “Her” to grab this one, as I thought the music choices were absolutely perfect for the mood of the film.

Best Original Song

“The Moon Song”, simply because I love it

Best Editing

It’s going to come down to “American Hustle” or “12 Years a Slave” .

Best Cinematography

Gravity, hands down.

Best Production Design

I’m going with “Her” on this one, again for originality.

Best Costume Design

“American Hustle” might snag this one.

Best Makeup

“Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Sound Editing

“Gravity”

Best Sound Mixing

“Gravity”, again.

Best Visual Effects

“Gravity” again and again.

Best Live-Action Short

I am pulling for “Helium” – I cried from start to finish. This film has whimsy, heart, and bursts with emotion. I do think that “Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)” probably has a better shot.

1098155_10153042613610551_811917957_nKoob’s Picks

Best Picture

From the Heart: “12 Years A Slave” – “Gravity” was a technological marvel, “American Hustle” was a really fun movie with great acting, and “Her” actually surprised me more than any of the Best Picture nominees, but “12 Years A Slave” was an epic movie that I feel will go down in history as one of the greats.  “The Wolf of Wall Street” was fun but it felt like Scorsese trying to recapture the magic of Goodfellas and didn’t quite get there.  Plus it was a little much and went on for too long.  The others were solid emotional stories but nothing spectacular.  “12 Years A Slave” was almost too realistic in its depiction of the brutalities of that era as told through the remarkable true story of one man’s perseverance and it will stick with me for a long time.

From the Head:  “12 Years A Slave” may have been too brutal for some Academy voters to handle but I feel like enough voters will recognize its significance and it will squeak out a win over “Gravity” and “American Hustle”.

Best Actor

From the Heart: Chiwetel Ejiofor for “12 Years A Slave” – just a great, understated performance from a great actor who is starting to get his due.

From the Head: Matthew McConaughey for “Dallas Buyers Club” – this is the year of the “McConaissance” and I feel like it would be hard to stop McConaughey’s momentum right now.

Best Actress

From the Heart: Cate Blanchett for “Blue Jasmine” – I had waited a while to see this movie as we missed it in the theater and had to wait until DVD to catch it so by then Cate’s performance had been pretty hyped up.  Needless to say it did not disappoint at all and was every bit as great as I was expecting it to be.  She really made me believe that she was that character.

From the Head: Cate Blanchett – probably the closest thing to a lock this year from everything I’ve been reading and from all the other awards that she has already received.

Best Supporting Actor

From the Heart: Michael Fassbender for “12 Years A Slave” – Can you sense a theme developing here?  This is always a tough category for me to pick, but Fassbender was just amazing as a slave owner battling demons within himself and taking it out on his slaves.  The others were all really good as well but none hit me as hard as Fassbender.

From the Head:  Jared Leto for “Dallas Buyers Club” – Once again, another actor with momentum who has won a bunch of the other awards already.  I thought his performance was well done but I didn’t think it was as great as most other people are saying.

Best Supporting Actress

From the Heart:  Lupita Nyong’o – “12 Years A Slave” – this was just the best performance by anyone in any movie this year hands down and possibly the best performance in years.  Pretty impressive for an actress making her feature film debut.  I will be somewhat devastated if she does not win this award because she is so deserving.

From the Head: Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years A Slave” – the Academy has a history of awarding up-and-comers in this category; almost like the Best New Artist award at the Grammy’s.  I think they will do the right thing here and Lupita will get her well-deserved Oscar.

Best Director

From the Heart: While Steve McQueen made an instant classic, I have to give the slight edge to Alfonso Cuaron for his amazing visual effects in “Gravity”

From the Head: Cuaron will take this.  “Gravity” is too innovative to ignore.

Other Category Choices

Best Animated Feature

Unfortunately I’ve only seen “The Croods” & “Despicable Me 2″ but I will go with “The Wind Rises” as it is supposedly the great Hayao Miyazaki’s last film.

Best Documentary

I think “The Act of Killing” will take it because it is such an unbelievable film but it is all true.

Best Original Screenplay

I think “American Hustle” will probably win but “Her” is as original as they come.

Best Adapted Screenplay

The only one I haven’t seen in this category is “Before Midnight” but I think “12 Years A Slave” is a pretty safe bet to take this one home.

Best Original Score

John Williams gets his 49th (!!!) Oscar nom for “The Book Thief” but I think “Gravity” will win it.  I am pulling for “Her” though.

Best Original Song

“The Moon Song” is adorable and I hope it wins.

Best Editing

“Gravity” hands down.  Some of the shots they pulled off were amazing.

Best Cinematography

“Gravity” again.

Best Production Design

Yes.  “Gravity” again.

Best Costume Design

The costumes in “American Hustle” were pretty fantastic but the Academy tends to love more period pieces for this category so probably “12 Years A Slave”

Best Makeup

Probably “Dallas Buyers Club” just because of the gravitas of the film but I could see “Jackass: Bad Grandpa” stealing this one because Johnny Knoxville really did look like a Bad Grandpa (from the commercials I saw).

Best Sound Editing

I’m going with “Gravity” on all the technical categories.

Best Sound Mixing

“Gravity” again

Best Visual Effects

“Gravity” in another almost sure thing.

Best Live-Action Short

“Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)” will take it.  A very disturbing film about child soldiers in Africa.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Double Gobble Oscar Picks

Leave a Reply

